Dispersal

I gaze upon the barren plains
Ambition coursing through my veins
A two-faced teardrop at my side
My gait is straight, my wisdom wide
I’ve learned the ways of tooth and claw
But also blade and hook and saw
That rip and tear far better than
The instruments of ancient man
With dexterous grip we can create
Such wondrous tools to defy fate
And leave our marks on walls of stone
Adorn ourselves with shells and bone
So clad we go from cozy cave
Our hearth is quenched, our spirits brave
Yet knowing that with fall of night
New fire might be struck alight
Each footfall takes us further north
To lands unknown we have set forth
And there we find family long lost
In winter valleys draped in frost
Their chins are weak, their brows protrude
We mate with them to not seem rude
Our children do not fall so ill
With thicker limbs not near as chill
We leave a tool or two or three
And exit east to wander free

(image source: Wikimedia Commons, 1, 2)

Leave a comment