Wedding Vows

Kate and I were married recently! Here’s a transcript of our wedding vows:

My Vows:

“Kate,

You are my best friend. When I first saw you years ago, I never thought I’d be meeting someone simultaneously so kind, interesting, intelligent, sexy, funny, and adventurous, and yet here you are. You occupy a lonely corner in the multivariate distribution of what I value in a partner. From our day-long conversations each Saturday as we explore places old and new, to cuddling up in bed watching movies, playing games, and reading books, every moment we spend together is special. I admire you for your perseverance in the face of adversity, your diligence in work and exercise, and the care and compassion you show both me and others, even when your own spirits are low. The many examples you set help me grow as a person and inspire me to be the best I can be.

I love you tremendously and enjoy our time together tremendously, and so am committing myself in marriage to you now. Speaking mostly metaphorically, I promise to walk forever by your side, hand-in-hand, except of course when it’s hot out and your hand is really sweaty, to carry the extra load when you’re tired and hurting, to rub your feet, legs, and back when they are sore, to help you up when the path gets steep or rocky, to film your squat and spot your bench, to cuddle you every night and morning, to hold you when you cry, spoon you when you sleep, and laugh with you when you fart, to nag you about proper dental hygiene and skin care, to remind you to take in the views every so often, and to protect you from scary coyotes and rabid squirrels. Please keep in mind that this is not an exhaustive list of promises, but you get the gist. Statistically, we’re not absolutely perfect for each other. But we’re damn well perfect enough, so I pledge to you my heart, my life, my devotion, and my love, with the stars above and our friends and families gathered here today as witness.”

IMG_9418.jpg

Kate’s Vows:

“When you first met me I may have seemed happy but I was lost and alone, but then you came into my life and suddenly there was this excitement in every adventure we went on, every conversation we had, and every touch we shared. You brought joy back into my life.

You inspire me to be a better person every day. So while I can’t promise to be perfect, or to never let my emotions get the best of me, I can promise to be the strongest, kindest, most generous version of myself. A version I didn’t even know existed, a version you helped me find, because you are my North Star. No matter how dark and wrong the world feels, I know that being with you will always be right.

You are the only person I want to challenge and frustrate me, the only companion I want on any adventure, the only hand I want to hold when I am sad, the only face I want to see when I wake up. So this is me telling the world, I choose you, knowing who you are today and trusting who you will become, as the person with whom I will spend my life.”

IMG_9421.jpg

(Photocredit: Bon Miller)

Leave a Reply

